Helming Thanksgiving dinner in England

By: Danielle Prostrollo

During my 2 years in England I have attempted a “Thanksgiving for Two” one year and the other year I completely ignored the holiday (which was pretty depressing – I love Thanksgiving).  This year I am making Thanksgiving dinner for my adoptive family (my friends and boyfriend).  There is something daunting about not only taking the helm of the kitchen, but of teaching my English friends why green bean casserole and cranberry relish are so important to modern America.

In an effort to introduce my English family to Thanksgiving I have decided to take things back to basics.  Grandma Prostrollo’s corn recipe, Aunt Effie’s dinner rolls, and a fried turkey can wait until next year – this year Thanksgiving dinner is coming straight from the Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book – the gold standard in American homes for over 75 years.

The pared-down dinner will include:
Roasted turkey breast*
Old fashioned stuffing
Cranberry sauce (admittedly I’m going to buy this – fresh cranberries are hard to come by as of yet)
Brown sugar glazed carrots
Green bean casserole*
Mashed potatoes (I’m going to take this one by intuition!)
Gravy (This might actually come from a package, I’m not confident in a turkey breast’s abilities to render enough juice)
Parker House rolls
Pumpkin pie (with homemade whipped cream, of course)

*Cookbook and online recipes don’t match up perfectly but they’re close!

My hope for dinner this week is to introduce my friends to an American tradition which may, on the surface, look a lot like a puffed-up Sunday roast.  For me Thanksgiving is a chance to be amongst friends and family and to hopefully forget everything else that demands my time and energy while eating good food with good people and I feel very grateful for the chance to do it.

So, to all my friends and family (especially those I’ve yet to meet) – Happy Thanksgiving!

2 Comments

Filed under American Culture, american food

2 responses to “Helming Thanksgiving dinner in England

  1. Matt Silva

    You show those brits what it is to be American! Happy thanksgiving, Danielle!

Leave a Reply

